Robot battle · Sourced specifications
ABB GoFa 5 vs FANUC CRX-5iA
Both are 5 kg, six-axis arms for collaborative work. GoFa 5 publishes a longer reach to its flange and a tighter repeatability figure; CRX-5iA is lighter, is rated IP67 and publishes environment and wrist-load limits that the ABB documents cited here do not.
ABB and FANUC publish reach, repeatability and joint travel on different bases; the rows below show where that matters.
Editorial source check: 9 October 2026. Specialist technical review: not yet performed. Why we say this
At a glance
ABB Robotics
- Maximum payload
- 5 kg
- Reach
- 950 mm to wrist centre; 1,050 mm to tool flange
- Repeatability
- 0.02 mm
- Degrees of freedom
- 6 axes
- TCP speed
- 2.2 m/s
FANUC
- Maximum payload
- 5 kg
- Reach
- 994 mm
- Repeatability
- ±0.03 mm
- Degrees of freedom
- 6 axes
- TCP speed
- 1,000 mm/s in collaborative mode; 2,000 mm/s in high-speed mode
Specification by specification
Source on every row| Specification | ABB Robotics GoFa 5 | FANUC CRX-5iA |
|---|---|---|
| Maximum payloadWhat is this? | 5 kg [1] | 5 kg [5] |
| ReachWhat is this?ABB states wrist-centre and flange figures; FANUC does not state its reference point. | 950 mm to wrist centre; 1,050 mm to tool flange [1]ABB publishes both reference points. Universal Robots publishes a single reach figure for UR5e. | 994 mm [5] |
| RepeatabilityWhat is this?FANUC Europe references ISO 9283; the ABB documents cited do not name a standard. | 0.02 mm [3]The cited ABB documents do not name the test standard. ABB's current GoFa page describes 0.02 mm as best in class. | ±0.03 mm [5]FANUC America does not name the test standard on its product page; FANUC Europe's datasheet references ISO 9283. |
| Degrees of freedomWhat is this? | 6 axes [2] | 6 axes [5] |
| TCP speedWhat is this?Maximum speed against mode-specific speeds. | 2.2 m/s [2]ABB notes that the safe collaborative speed is lower and depends on the application. | 1,000 mm/s in collaborative mode; 2,000 mm/s in high-speed mode [5]FANUC Europe's datasheet describes these as maximum linear speeds of the tool centre point. |
| Joint working rangesWhat is this?± limits against total travel. | ±180° on axes 1, 2, 4, 5 and 6; −225° to +85° on axis 3 [2] | J1 380°, J2 360°, J3 380°, J4 380°, J5 360°, J6 450° [5]FANUC publishes each axis's total travel. Universal Robots and ABB publish ± limits, so ±360° equals 720° of travel. |
| Maximum joint speeds | 125°/s (axes 1–2), 140°/s (axis 3), 200°/s (axes 4–6) [2] | Unknown: not published in the documents cited |
| Allowable wrist moment / inertiaWhat is this? | Unknown: not published in the documents cited | J4 19 Nm / 0.77 kg·m²; J5 15.4 Nm / 0.5 kg·m²; J6 6.7 Nm / 0.1 kg·m² [5] |
| Robot weight | 28 kg [3] | 25 kg [5] |
| Footprint | 165 × 165 mm [2] | Unknown: not published in the documents cited |
| Mounting | Any angle, including table, wall or ceiling [2] | Floor, angle or inverted [5] |
| Ingress protection | IP54 [2]ABB's current GoFa page states protection up to IP67 across the family; confirm the option for a specific GoFa 5 configuration. | IP67 (body, wrist and J3 arm) [5]FANUC Europe's datasheet notes that IP67 does not apply with the food-grade option. |
| Cleanroom classification | ISO cleanroom class 4 [3] | Unknown: not published in the documents cited |
| Ambient operating temperature | Unknown: not published in the documents cited | 0–45 °C [6] |
| Safety rating | PL d, Category 3 [2] | Unknown: not published in the documents cited |
| Controller | OmniCore C30 [2] | R-30iB Plus [5] |
Where GoFa 5 leads on published figures
- Longer published reach to the flange: 1,050 mm against 994 mm, subject to the reference-point caveat.
- Tighter published repeatability: 0.02 mm against ±0.03 mm.
- Higher published maximum TCP speed: 2.2 m/s against 2,000 mm/s in FANUC's high-speed mode.
- Torque and position sensors in each of the six joints, according to ABB, and published joint speeds.
Where CRX-5iA leads on published figures
- Lighter published arm: 25 kg against 28 kg.
- IP67 listed for CRX-5iA; ABB lists IP54 for GoFa 5, with IP67 available in the GoFa family.
- More joint travel: 380° on J1 and J4 and 450° on J6, against 360° (±180°) on most GoFa axes and 310° on axis 3.
- Published ambient temperature, humidity, noise and wrist-moment limits.
What cannot fairly be compared
- Reach: ABB publishes reach to the wrist centre (950 mm) and the flange (1,050 mm); FANUC does not state the reference point for 994 mm.
- Repeatability: FANUC Europe's datasheet references ISO 9283; the ABB documents cited do not name a standard, and ABB's 2021 datasheet gives 0.05 mm rather than 0.02 mm.
- Joint travel: ABB publishes ± limits and FANUC total travel per axis; the conversions above are RoboMag's arithmetic.
- Speed: ABB publishes a maximum TCP speed and notes that collaborative speeds are lower; FANUC publishes collaborative and high-speed mode figures.
Questions to answer before choosing
- What is the heaviest tool plus part, and how far is its centre of gravity from the flange? FANUC's wrist moment limits and Universal Robots' payload chart both apply.
- Does the environment need IP67, washdown or a food-grade option?
- Will the cell run collaboratively, fenced, or switch between modes? That decides the usable speed.
- Which controller, fieldbus and programming tools does the site already support, and who will service the arm locally?
- Does the layout need more reach than the shortlisted arm publishes, measured to the reference point your tool uses?
This comparison uses manufacturer documentation only. RoboMag has not tested either arm, and the published figures are not a performance ranking.
Sources for every value
- [1] GoFa collaborative robotsABB Robotics · Product family page (GoFa 5, GoFa 10, GoFa 12) · accessed 8 October 2026
- [2] GoFa CRB 15000 datasheet (Spanish edition)ABB · © 2021 · Spanish-language document · accessed 8 October 2026
- [3] ABB collaborative robotics portfolioABB · 9AKK108471A7656, revision A, © 2023 · accessed 8 October 2026
- [4] ABB launches GoFa higher payload cobot for collaborative tasks up to 5kgABB · Press release, 24 February 2021 · accessed 8 October 2026
- [5] CRX-5iA specificationsFANUC America · Product page specification table · accessed 9 October 2026
- [6] CRX-5iA datasheetFANUC Europe · MDS-04892, V1, 12/2023 · accessed 9 October 2026
- [7] CRX-5iA product pageFANUC Europe · accessed 9 October 2026
- [8] CRX collaborative robot seriesFANUC Europe · Series page listing standard, food-grade and paint models · accessed 9 October 2026